Your world. Your imagination. Oh really?

This is still the tag line that appears on Linden Labs homepage, but really the only part that rings true is the imagination. You can imagine a place where you are free to create, but others can feel free to steal. You can imagine a place where instead of being a community, we attack behind each others backs like petty little children. Attacking anonymously to me has the validity of a horses excrement….but like I said your world, your imagination.

SO FOR THE IT WHO WILL NOT BE NAMED HERE

Thank you for passing our shapes out and great job on setting up your little store on marketplace. Now make sure you make some good videos using them like the stuff you post on youtube using others names. If you need a platform with a user base the size of a small town to prove how awesome and cool you are, then you really need to reexamine your life and priorities. You say how everyone who plays this is a fool, yet you spend hours and hours online doing what you do. If they managed to take your account away you would just come back and start all over again. Now that is an obsession. Since you mentioned that you were 20 something, and comparing that to your online hours just shows you lack any real friends. I am sorry you couldn’t cut it in the modeling world if that was the start of your butthurtness but how are you going to handle rejection in the real world? Since your 20 something you have a lot of years of work ahead of you. So every time you get fired from a job or in trouble will you turn into this creature who wants to destroy everything? We see it here in the news all the time. You have to work for the goals you set, falling short of a goal is a lesson. You take all of these lessons and become stronger in the weaker fields and to supplement what you may already know. You learn nothing by stealing  (other than feeling more confident in getting away with it).

A shape really isn’t everything, it still takes work to make it look good (especially mine) you still need to know how to do the work ( I do) and I would say 100 percent of the people who want World for a job will want World, not a copied shape. You can’t copy my personality or the way I do things because honey…..your not that good.

As I said (and please imagine its being said by tommy lee jones in the pipe scene from the fugitive) I don’t care…..ironically since mine was a linden shape it was non transfer, now I have a transfer version. So if anyone really wants my shape just IM me. Don’t spend 800 lindens on that because there is no refunds and you’ll be disappointed.

Your so vain I bet you think this blog is  about you…….you’re so vain (you’re so vain)

Have fun getting that out of your head

This is about our creative environment…Second Life

In particular, Linden Labs. I am one of the many who pay a small pittance for a little parcel. (but not for long) I am a simple guy, I like to drive on linden roads or fly etc. But I also am aware of non permanence, and while this is a fun distraction, its not my be all end all. In real life I hate television, laugh tracks on sitcoms drive me insane. American news is about as insightful as a library in the dark while blind. Politics here and probably anywhere really has made it a us versus them mentality, when in reality its always us versus us. So for me to have a creative platform that has no shooting (I suck) or jumping cliffs etc is just another creative outlet. If I was a great painter I would gravitate that way but multi color stick figures may not be up everyone’s alley (or would they?)

I am a musician, a multi instrumentalist, that’s my primary creative outlet. I study, I learn. I try to seek out my own answers, and not be fed what others want you to hear. In the same breath I keep my opinions mostly to myself, I try to hear everyone’s side before I even attempt a resolution.

So lets have a simple look at AR reports and retention at its basic level….the welcome area

My original rez in area when I came in was at Morris so lets have a peek there,

Oh sorry, can’t make it there because it has been crashed for the 1000th time today.

Always the same people, day in, day out. Can’t even attempt to build a cube much less walk. The mentions of yes, that’s why you don’t go to those sandboxes to build has no weight for someone just coming in. Paying an outrageous price for a stand alone sim isn’t always the answer, I came here to meet and be fascinated by new people, not for being secluded somewhere on a sim powered by LL’s apple 2. (ok 2e sigh)

So for the AR reports sent that they wont police (actually I don’t think they can) what does that say to the person filing them? We don’t give a shit, why should you?

Feel free, however to purchase your own gpu crasher etc on marketplace, all the kids are doing it….I hear its all the rage.

See for yourself for fun and giggles sometime, head to the morris sandbox and if your not caged, orbited, or any other sort of lagtastical greatness within an hour……..well in lieu of actually physically eating my hat, I will delete my prim floor (then rebuild it)

Linden employees get it too when they have to drop in there for some reason (but they can return anything)

On the subject of marketplace

It is perfectly acceptable to advertise your products at any welcome area you choose. We appreciate it more if you use items that unless you are turned away they are always in the middle of the screen. In fact while you are at it put on movelock, sit them on information kiosks with bubbles around them that directs them to your marketplace page! It must work good because there is more and more everyday.

It hasn’t been days of it, its been weeks….months

AR reports, pointless. So to me that says we really don’t care. So to the honest people who may actually pay to advertise who do it the proper and correct way there is a cheaper method. But I guess that gets down to a question of ones own morals and ethics

Now back to the ground level, the new user experience

Well if you are lucky, as your first online experience you can run into this guy…..

His pointless online existence is to hang around welcome hubs pushing girls or standing by them dressed this way, doing that behavior. As most know, not all are an adult age and many countries have many different laws about certain acts etc. But according to the multiple AR reports sent, its all ok behavior. I think it’s a bit mentally suspect, but I digress.

User retention from an “oldbie” standpoint

Its not really about the non answering the AR’s I guess at all. Its just comes down to one sentence.

You don’t know a fucking thing about SL.

Your user base you always depended on being there.  Maybe you’re just trying to make it go away. Like a bad utopian dream that failed. That’s cool.

Lets be honest here, most new users don’t buy anything at all. They get maybe one cool look (if that) then get bored of it quick and quit logging in. But Linden Labs should see where the bulk of the purchases come from, they should know what the events are, they need to have a clue as to why some gather at this place called second life (on another note I hate the name second life)

It makes it incredibly hard to support your product when you can’t respect your user base. AR reports that don’t get answered eventually turn into just a question of why bother? Apathetic certainly, but really……really?

And since I am ranting

People who know me know that I hate to ask for anything. I did Mr VW out of my own pocket, it was my choice. Would I be better served paying for cable tv and sitting on the couch saying “Get me a beer Ethel!” Not in my head. So its my choice.

It was an exercise in creativity, that’s all I need. Besides one year a winner uses a horse, the next one dresses like one….its pure expression, nothing more.  For me I don’t expect to make a red cent out of modeling, never have, and that’s not why I do it in the first place. It’s a way of expressing, in ways its an artistic release. Do it for you…if it makes you happy then hell yes. The smile you get from here leads to the smile out there that may touch another. That’s my simple beliefs. This constant negativity is just something we are used to at this point. Our society is used to the phrases like nice guys finish last or Kharma equals everything out, but in reality everyone finishes the same, its just the space in between where you can be a light or a blight.

And that’s all I got to say about that

Comments

Leave a Reply

